State level function on National Voters Day held at Shimla

State level function on National Voters Day held at Shimla

The State level function on the occasion National Voters Day was organized under the theme ‘Greater Participation for Stronger Democracy’ here today. Additional Chief Secretary Ajay Mittal presided over the function.

Speaking on the occasion Mittal said Himachal Pradesh was known as peaceful State and it was a matter of contentment that all elections were held in a peaceful and harmonious atmosphere. He stressed this tradition should be carried forward in future also for which the younger generation should take the lead.

He said the people of the State always participate in the polling process in a large number to ensure their presence in democratic set up for which the State had been appreciated at the National level. He appealed the youth voters to make their voters identity cards as the participation of each person was must in democracy which was basis of political, social and economic growth of the country. He added various reforms had been witnessed in the election process of the country during last three decades which had helped in further strengthening our democratic set up.

Mittal honoured the booth level and Assistant Returning Officers alongwith media persons for their role in election process. He awarded Special Correspondent of Indian Express Ashwani Sharma, Principal Correspondent of The Tribune Smt. Pratibha Chauhan and State Bureau Chief of Punjab Kesari Rajiv Patharia in the media category for media reporting while SDM Palampur Ajit Bhardwaj, SDM Shimla Rural Gian Sagar Negi and SDM Mandi Madan Kumar were also honoured on behalf of State Election Commission for their outstanding contribution in the election process. He also honoured folk singer Vicky Chauhan who was election icon of the State.

He also distributed photo identity cards to the new voters on this occasion.

The message of the Chief Election Commissioner of India was also broadcast on the occasion.

Deputy Commissioner Dinesh Malhotra presented the vote of thanks.

State Election Commissioner T.G.Negi, Chief Electoral Officer Narender Chauhan, Deputy Mayor Tikender Panwar and other prominent persons of the town were also present on the occasion.

Stay updated on the go with Himachal Watcher News App. Click here to download it for your android device.