Illegal Mining in Himachal: Illegal curbed routes to be identified and dismantled

The Mining Officers of the State have been entrusted with the responsibility of identifying illegal curbed routes leading to river beds for carrying out illegal mining activities. This was decided in a meeting held here yesterday evening under the chairmanship of Director Industries Amit Kashyap to discuss and chalk out action plan to be implemented in compliance to previous directions issued by the Hon’ble Court and the State to effectively curb illegal mining activities.

Amit Kashyap said that after identifying such routes by the mining officers, the same should be reported to concerned Deputy Commissioners so that these illegal routes could be dismantled immediately. He also directed all the mining officers to identify mineral potential areas vulnerable to illegal mining in their respective districts so that the same could be put for public auction. He said that this would not only help in checking illegal mining but also legal material would be available in the markets and would also add to the State exchequer. He directed the mining officers to submit proposal auctions in a time bound manner.

Director Industries also directed mining officers to ensure surprise raids frequently and take deterrent action against the offenders.

For the convenience of the general public the telephone numbers of all the mining officers would be made available so that any information regarding illegal mining activities could be reported immediately.

Telephone number of district mining officer are as followed:

Distt Name Phone Number Mining Officer
Paramjit Singh Bilaspur 9418491133 Mining Officer
Suresh Kumar Chamba 9418439966 Mining Officer
Rajiv Kalia Hamirpur 9418656450 Mining Officer
Jayoti Kumar Puri Kangra 9418017154 Mining Officer
Ms. Bindia Rani Kullu 9459637600 Mining Officer
Harvinder Singh Kinnaur 8988023986 Mining Officer
Bhushan Lahaul-Spiti 9418088642 Mining Officer
Kulbhushan Sharma Mandi 9459072819 Mining Officer
Suresh Bhardwaj Sirmaur 9418625341 Mining Officer
Ms. Shelja Chaudhary Shimla 9418517395 Mining Officer
Surit Chander Solan 9418571409 Mining Officer
Neeraj Kant Una 9816519502 Mining Officer

Stay updated on the go with Himachal Watcher News App. Click here to download it for your android device.